Oracle Java Certification – it’s a good thing

I cannot tell you how many false starts I’ve had on my Java Certification.

  • JDK 1.4
  • JDK 6
  • now JDK 8

All that studying, and the one time I purchased the exam real life got in the way and I didn’t push it back.

One thing I will share, for the time I’ve been a Software Engineer / Team Lead – A certification would’ve been useful, but I think I am making decent money without it.

The benefit of a cert is to help you stand out among the crowd in an interview, or in a shop that reveres Java talent and growing /proving your skills.  I have found the interview scenario to be more prevalent than the appreciate management culture.  Software shops tend to treat us like warm bags of meat meant to sit in a chair and code – on time, under budget or there’s hell to pay.  #JustSaying.

For the personal satisfaction of putting that badge of honor on your Linked In profile, I am fully encouraging anyone to “Just Do it”.  It’s a good thing.

Thoughts on Passing Oracle’s Java Certifications – DZone Java

Leave a Reply

